December Favourites

Hello everyone! I hope you’ve had a wonderful New Year’s Eve wherever you are – mine was fantastic as it was my first at home in years, and my family and I spent a very enjoyable evening playing Articulate and watching Bride and Prejudice, one of my favourite films of all time.

Fear not, loyal followers: I have not forgotten my favourites of the month! So without further ado, let’s get started.

Nars Sheer Glow Foundation

NARS Sheer Glow FoundationI constantly tease my mum about the sheer number of foundations she has perched on her dressing table, so she handed this over to me to keep me quiet. I’ve tried it out several times this week now and I have to say I’m delighted with it. It may even replace my MAC Mineralize as my go-to foundation, as the coverage is so beautifully smooth, covering all flaws to the point where I often don’t need concealer, but retaining an amazingly radiant, dewy effect nevertheless. My mum happened to have the shade ‘Barcelona’ which is my perfect match, and together with the MAC Fix+ spray I mentioned in a previous post, it lasts all day. My only qualm is that it’s in a pour-out bottle, so it’s difficult to control the amount that comes out. Otherwise, I’m really enjoying using this, and would even recommend it over the other foundations that I use. It’s made me much more inclined to try out other NARS products now, as they’re clearly worth the price tag.

DUO Eyelash Adhesive

DUO Lash AdhesiveIn Madrid, I’m constantly rushing and therefore barely have time for a second coat of mascara, let alone false eyelashes! However, I’m a perfectionist, and didn’t quite feel I’d added eyelash application to my arsenal of makeup skills, so when Christmas rolled around, and I actually had an occasion which I felt merited false lashes, I decided to properly arm myself in advance. I had previously used the Eylure adhesive, but wasn’t hugely fond of the applicator, and so when I spotted the DUO glue in Boots, which is obviously the world’s most popular lash adhesive, I had to give it a go. I’ve used it twice now and I can really see why it’s so well-loved! It’s a bit fiddly at first as it’s easy to squeeze out a little bit too much, so I ended up having to use a cotton bud to properly apply the glue along the lash band. It makes the application incredibly easy, though, and I feel far more confident about it than I used to. I’ve used it with the Eylure lashes which I posted about on Instagram, and with a set of cheap lashes I received free with my Sleep-In Rollers ages ago, and I would totally recommend it, as it makes for a smooth, panic-free application.

Shiseido Eyebrow Styling Compact

Shiseido Eyebrow Styling CompactAgain, those of you who follow me on Instagram will have seen that I purchased the Sleek Brow Kit but swapped it with my mother for her Shiseido brow kit in Deep Brown, as it was far too dark for her. The latter is obviously worth far more than the former (£25 versus about £6) so I felt pretty jammy after this deal. I’ve test-driven it twice now, and both times using my Body Shop angled brush and the Rimmel Brow This Way on top. I really like this compact – I was sceptical at first because it just looked like two different matte eyeshadows, but they both look incredibly natural, not like when I use actual matte black eyeshadow, which can really ruin my look if I’m not careful. The brown is the more natural colour, so perfect for the sparser areas or when you just want a chilled-out look, while the black is still subtle but great for when you want your brows to stand out a little bit more. It’s pretty pricey so hopefully it’ll last me a really long time. I’m still probably going to repurchase my KIKO brow pen as that’s far more convenient to carry around and much quicker, but when I have time to spend on my makeup I’ll definitely be reaching for this.

KIKO Real Glare Limited Edition Nail Lacquer

KIKO Real Glare

I absolutely cannot resist popping into the KIKO store on Gran Via, and when I was last there I was hypnotised by these beautiful limited edition polishes at the till. The sales girl did her best to persuade me to bag all six, and while it was a tough choice, I settled on the pinky peach colour and the dark grey colour, which again I featured on my Instagram. These nail varnishes apply so beautifully – in the past I’ve struggled with textured polishes that apply in clumps – and dry extremely quickly. It’s also really easy to add coat over coat, and the packaging is just divine. The silver is absolutely stunning, and an excellent choice for any parties over the festive period, while the peach is more subdued but incredibly classy, with the glitter and texture adding fun to an otherwise staid colour. They’re also not too difficult to remove, as is usually the case with glitter varnish – all in all, a real winner, and not just for Christmas!

L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes So Couture Mascara

So Couture MascaraI already owned one Volume Million mascara, but in waterproof, and I was amazed I hadn’t tried them out sooner. I’m usually a Maybelline girl, but it never hurts to stray outside your comfort zone, and this mascara demonstrates how that can certainly pay off. I saw a few adverts for this and picked this up to compensate for my disappointing No7 experience (which I’ll cover in a post about makeup that isn’t worth buying), and just – wow. I’m not even sure I can adequately express the effect this has on my lashes, so I’ll say that when I wore this the other day, it genuinely looked more dramatic than the false lashes I had on today. Seriously. You’ve probably heard far too many mascaras being described as equivalent to false eyelashes, but this is really something if your wiggle technique is advanced and you apply a couple of coats. Your eyelashes are far longer, separated, and tremendously thick and black. I’ll try and upload a comparison picture to Instagram (follow me if you haven’t already!) to show you what I mean, because mere words simply will not do this justice. It makes me want to try out all the other Volume Million mascaras now!

Anyway, it’s almost 3am here and I have a busy day ahead, so I would like to once again wish you the very best for your entry into 2015, and I hope you enjoyed reading this!

3 thoughts on “December Favourites

Leave a Reply

