UK Haul! Feb 2015

Hello! I hope you’ve all had a wonderful Valentine’s weekend!

You may have seen that I’m now on Bloglovin’ – I have very very few followers which is a little tragic, so I’d love it if you could give me a follow over there! I absolutely love it as a way to read all my favourite blogs in one place.

Regular readers will have noticed that the ‘January Favourites’ post was conspicuous in its absence: that is because I didn’t try (and love) enough new products last month to warrant a post, so I’ll be combining a January and February favourites post in a few weeks – and I am very much hoping some of these products will be featuring!

Last week I took a flying visit to Oxford, and while I suppose it was nice to see my boyfriend, we all know that my real reason for going back was to return to my beloved Boots in Cornmarket Street. And boy, did I show it some love. I actually had to restrain myself, and STILL ended up with a significant dent in my wallet and a few extra kilos in my suitcase…oops!

Onto the haul!

Here’s a diagram to help you keep track:

  1. No7 Smokey Eyeliner Brush

Now that I’ve started paying more attention to the ‘drop-down shadow’ undereye effect, I’ve realised I need a decent brush to blend out the kohl on my bottom lids without eradicating it altogether (which my H&M brush tends to). I know MAC has a good pencil brush, but I wanted to see if there were cheaper options before splashing out. I’m interested to see whether this is firm enough to do what I’d like it to do.

  1. Real Techniques Retractable Lip Brush

Okay, so I technically could just use my Real Techniques concealer brush as a lip brush, but I couldn’t resist picking this up. I am very bad at lining my lips symmetrically or even applying lipstick neatly, so the concealer brush is useful, but then it takes ages to fill in the rest of my lips, so I thought I’d try a designated lip brush and see whether it significantly improves anything. Plus it’s retractable – what’s not to love?

  1. No7 Gel-Look Shine Nail Colour in Grey Mist

I bought this because I was searching for the perfect sophisticated grey nail varnish, and the L’Oreal one (#5) was darker than what I was looking for. I would really love recommendations for mid-range nail varnishes that are worth the money – my love affair with inexpensive nail varnishes has now come to an end as I have realised that it is truly unacceptable for a polish to chip literally five minutes after applying it. (I’m looking at you, KIKO.) When I actually get time to paint my nails, I’m looking forward to seeing how it applies.

  1. Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick in Rosewood 833

Everyone knows I love lipstick and can’t go without a swipe of my signature rosy pink, but now I’m shifting towards a richer, deeper, sultrier look – in short, I’m trying to find “my” marsala. I’d heard about these lipsticks from blogger Alicia Saphron and knew they were a good bet, but that didn’t stop me walking around Boots with a hand entirely covered in swatches! I fear my coat may be forever ruined… In any case, I really like this shade as it contains just the right amount of pink to suit my skin tone and warm up my face, while still being something different from my usual ‘go-to’ shade, which is now a little too bright for my taste.

  1. L’Oreal Paris Color Riche Latex Effect in 888 Mademoiselle Grey

This cute little bottle was one of the first things I picked up on arriving in England, as I wanted to paint my nails before a friend’s 21st, and I’d heard great things on Instagram about this range, but unfortunately it came out a lot darker on my nails than it appeared in the bottle. It was still an excellent polish, though – it wore really well with the only problem being tipwear after a few days. I might try another colour in this range as it was great value for money.

  1. Maybelline Lash Sensational Lash Multiplying Mascara

Yes, yes, I know – EVERYONE and their mother is onto this mascara at the moment, but when I saw a picture of it on Maybelline’s Instagram as soon as it launched, I knew I had to try it! I suspect it’s the whole new packaging that makes me think that it’s a miraculous new formulation (yes! I admit it! I’m a consumer sheep!) and I’ve refrained from watching or reading any reviews so I can make up my own mind on this one. I now have so many mascaras I don’t know what to do with them!

  1. Umberto Giannini Glam Hair Morning After Dry Shampoo

This isn’t the first time I’ve purchased this, as it was recommended to me by Tereza from Cityscape Bliss a good while ago as a bit of an upgrade from my bog-standard Batiste, but the nozzle clogged after a few days and I got really angry and threw it away. Whoops. I liked the Schwarzkopf one I’d picked up from El Corte Ingles, but it had a very functional citrus scent and I was looking for something subtler. I hope it still manages to provide the volume I need!

  1. Collection Extreme 24 Hour Felt Tip Liner

I am definitely going to include this in an All-Time Mega-Faves post or something. This is hands-down the BEST felt tip liner I have EVER used (the 24-Hour Colour one was great but made my skin peel off, so you know) and for that price? UNBEATABLE. I pick one up every time I’m back in the UK.

  1. MAC Prep+Prime Fix+ Finishing Mist

My favourite thing. Even if I’m only wearing the tiniest drop of concealer, I still use this. I can’t believe I actually used to put hairspray on my face before discovering this. Ugh.

  1. Soap & Glory One For Cover Shower Cap

I left mine at home in Surrey and it was starting to get a bit old anyway, although still completely functional. I went through countless cheap shower caps before discovering this – it’s truly worth the money.

  1. Rimmel Exaggerate Full Colour Lip Liner in 018 Addiction

I feel like throwing a sulky tantrum because they didn’t have Eastend Snob and I think it would look perfect on me 😦 This was therefore my consolation prize. Waah. I opened all the staff-only drawers and everything. I might go to the shops here in Madrid and see if they have it. Still, I do like this and I was glad to find it, as Arshia from happytreasuress had given them a pretty solid thumbs-up in a previous post. I’m looking forward to trying this out with the Max Factor lipstick!

  1. Maybelline Master Drama Khol Liner in Charcoal Grey

This in “Dark Brown” has quickly risen to become one of my favourite products, and it’s still pretty new to my collection – I’m convinced! I like browns and greys for subtler effects than plain black, as I’ve left the panda-eyed look well behind in my early teenage years. The pencil I own is soft, pigmented and smudges beautifully, so I’m hoping this grey one is another hit.

  1. Sleek i-Divine Storm Palette

I adore my Sleek palettes! I’m still not convinced I need to fork out for the £40 palette that shall not be named – these are fantastic. I already own Au Naturel, Original and Garden of Eden, and have been caping for this one for months, as it was sold out everywhere I turned at Christmas. I still have no idea what kind of look I’m going to create with these shadows, but the colours really appealed to me: time to get experimenting, I think!

BONUS – 14. Invisibobble Traceless Hair Ring

Yes! I forgot to include this in the picture…sorry!

Is there anything more irritating than huge ridges on your freshly-styled hair? The alternative is waking up with tangled hair from sleeping with it loose – you just can’t win! I was intrigued when I saw these, as was my boyfriend, who compared them to telephone cords! When I realised you received three in a box instead of just one, I was sold. Anything that claims to eradicate kinks and reduce headaches (agh!) is definitely reaching its target market where I’m concerned. Let’s see if the gimmick actually holds up to scrutiny.

Wish List

Of course, there were things I spotted and didn’t pick up in the end.

  1. Bumble and Bumble Blow Dry – these are incredibly expensive (£23 for 150ml) so I couldn’t quite bring myself to buy one. I also couldn’t quite choose between the different variations – definitely one to research and read about before purchasing, I think.
  2. Sleek Blush by 3 Palette – I would really like to branch out into new blusher colours that aren’t just my standard pink, but I’m not quite brave enough yet! Plus I have a right royal problem getting high-street blushers to actually stay on my face, so I’m cautious about buying a product that won’t work, when I could save up and invest in another MAC blush instead.
  3. Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner – I’ve been eyeing this (heh) for actual years and actually really regret not getting this in the end! I’d like to experiment with thinner eyeliner flicks and this looks like a good alternative to tiny fiddly brushes.
  4. Lipcote – I…forgot. (As I did about many, many other products…)

So there we have it! If you’ve tried any of these products, I’d love to hear your thoughts. I’d also love to hear if you have any ideas on what I should blog about next!

7 thoughts on “UK Haul! Feb 2015

  1. Shefali says:

    • I have a Sleek Blush By 3 palette (in Pink Sprint) & it’s brilliant! Any time I’ve worn it, like for NYE, it’s stayed put – I haven’t experienced any fade and my cheeks are as rosy at the end of the night as they are at the beginning. I imagine the Fix It spray helps too. They’re *really* heavily pigmented though; even with the lightest touch of my blusher brush I end up looking clown-like and have to use my fingers or Urban Decay Optical Blurring brush to buff it out and blend it in, sometimes with a dusting of translucent powder to tone it down if it’s too bright.

    • I have the Stila Stay All Day Eyeliner & can confirm it’s really good & easy to apply!

    • If you’re still looking for Marsala coloured lipsticks, this Desi beauty website has just done a feature on them: http://desibeautyblog.com/makeup/beauty-products-in-marsala-for-desis/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. karishma0 says:

    Great to have you back!

    The Stila Stay All Day waterproof eyeliner is my holy grail liner. I bought it in the States a while back and haven’t looked back! It’s seen me through tropical heat and sub-zero freezes while I’ve been abroad on my travels so that should be enough to get you back in that Sephora haha.

    And your boyfriend was definitely on to something with the Invisibobbles. They were all the rage while I was in Beijing last year and they are actually called telephone cords out there! Smart guy 😉
    Needless to say I brought a gazillion of them back to the UK and can confirm they definitely don’t kink your hair (as long as you don’t wind them too tightly). They also stop root strain etc. because they hold your hair together looser than an average hairband. Winning.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Karishma says:

        No more than two winds around your hair ever! Because otherwise the cord will loosen and become pointless. Also use a clip or pins to secure hair if you’re using it while working out because otherwise it’ll just slip out while you’re moving… speaking from (very awkward) experience here xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

