Three Stop Shop: Makeup Removers

Hello, and welcome to this new occasional series, where I review three products that do similar things: one good, one meh, and one dreadful. It’s quick, it’s easy, and it should help you save your hard-earned cash!

Today’s selection – makeup removers!

1. KIKO Cleansing Waterkiko water

Claims: Cleanses with just a few strokes, attracting every trace of make up and removing it easily. Thanks to its natural extracts, the skin is clean and moisturized. The special dispenser has been designed to perfectly wet the cotton pad without waste and without turning the bottle over.

Price: £6.90 for 200ml

Reality: This is hands down one of the worst products I have ever used. Absolutely appalling. It claims to be for delicate skin, but my skin was stinging and burning after using this. The dispenser, which is a push-down style one, does not work and I ended up unscrewing the lid altogether out of frustration. It only did a pretty average job of removing makeup and felt unpleasantly cheap on the skin – the much-famed Garnier Micellar Water is a much better alternative and is considerably better value for money. Avoid.

2. Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanserliz earle

Claims: Our original, multi award-winning hot cloth cleanser quickly removes daily grime and make up to leave skin clean, soft and radiant. Ideal for your morning or evening cleanse, this formulation works on every age and skin type, offering concentrated yet gentle cleansing power.

Price: I bought the 200ml tube, which is £28.00.

Reality: I decided to make the leap into “proper” skincare (read: something that wasn’t makeup wipes) when I turned 21. My mother is an amateur expert on premium skincare, and recommended this incredibly famous product to start off with. At first, I was completely enamoured at the beautiful creamy feel of the product, and I enjoy using it so much that I’m even motivated to remove my makeup at 3am. However, I’m now a couple of months – what?! has the time gone that quickly?! – into using this product, and I’ve changed my mind somewhat. While it is undoubtedly great, I don’t think I will be repurchasing, for the simple reason that, no matter how much I used and how many times I clean my face with the cloth, it often fails to take off all my makeup. In the morning when I wash my face with water, I frequently see makeup traces on my towel, which is a big fat no for me. When I rely on a cleanser, I expect to go to sleep with a clean face.

People have said to me, “You’re expecting too much: it’s not supposed to take off all your makeup.” Actually…yes, it is. The website product description continues: ” Free from mineral oil, it has a rich and creamy texture and swiftly removes all traces of face and eye make up, even stubborn mascara.”, which in my case is a fair exaggeration. I’m searching for a similar alternative, so all recommendations are welcome! I tried Lush’s “9 to 5” makeup remover last night and I’m cautiously optimistic, so that may be my new replacement. I love using warm muslin cloths to wash my face – I stopped using the Garnier micellar water because I am appalled at the amount of cotton pads I have to throw away every day, which is incredibly wasteful in my opinion. This product is fantastic if you don’t wear much makeup, but probably a waste of money if you do.

3. Clinique Take the Day Off Makeup Remover for Lids, Lashes and Lips clinique

Claims: Unique, two-way formula that loosens the grip, then speeds the departure of the most persistent, eye makeups, mascara and lipsticks.

Price: £17.00 for 125ml

Reality: My mum gave this to me in January because she no longer used it, so I’ve been using it to remove my eye makeup before using the Hot Cloth Cleanser. And – OH WOW. Wow. Seriously. It’s magic. I swipe the cotton pad over my eye and my gel eyeliner, several different eyeshadows, orange concealer, thick mascara are just…gone. It’s incredible and doesn’t feel oily in the slightest. This is the first time I’ve used a Clinique product and I am totally starting to understand the hype, and even considering their other makeup removers – would you recommend? If this is anything to go by, they’ll be great.

So, that was my first Three Stop Shop review set: I hope you enjoyed it! If you have any product recommendations, opinions on the products above, or suggestions for future instalments in the series, please do comment below!

If you enjoyed this, you might enjoy:

UK Haul! Feb 2015

December Favourites

3 thoughts on “Three Stop Shop: Makeup Removers

  1. Céc says:

    Clinique skincare products are in general quite harsh on the skin especially after prolonged use so personally I´ve found them a no no for my quite dry, slightly sensitive skin, and friends have said the same. It´s a shame because the products are considerable cheaper than other brands. Have you tried Lancôme? Galatée Confort is amazing and very gentle.

    Like

Leave a Reply

