Madrid Street Style Part One – Retiro

Hello everyone! I hope your Easter holidays are going well, if you have them (lucky Oxford! I went back to work last week!). I’d like to present my second article for the Cherwell, in which I walk around the centre of Madrid, fat camera in hand, avidly searching for well-dressed victims specimens to inject a bit of Mediterranean flair into the Oxford style scene. It would mean the world to me if you checked it out, and so the link is here.

My lovely editors always do a fabulous job of condensing everything so it’s suitable for the website, but I took a fair few photos and thought I’d display them all here in a clickable format, so it’s easier to see each and every detail of the outfits that particularly impressed me.

Therefore, here is my original draft of the article, along with the first set of photos I took that day. Enjoy! (And stay tuned for Part Two later this week!)


One of the many perks of spending a year abroad is the fabulous weather that happens to come your way just when everyone in Oxford is shivering and trying to hide from the rain on their way to Sainsbury’s. The springtime weather in Madrid has already surpassed what we in Britain tend to hope for in summer, with highs of 29° and cloudless blue skies. In central Madrid, there’s only one place to be when it’s this gorgeous, and that’s the Buen Retiro Park, possibly the city’s most famous green space.

With such a diverse and vibrant mix of people, the fashion on display is a truly fascinating sight. I decided to photograph a few of the outfits that caught my eye.

I’m not sure whether the co-ordination was intentional or simply the coincidental result of BFF bonding, but this duo stood out from the crowd for me, not just due to the simplicity of their clothes but also the confidence with which they wore them. Both girls favoured a retro silhouette, with button-up blouses tucked neatly into blue denim jeans: the white sleeveless blouse paired with high-waisted jeans make for an especially pin-up-esque look! White plimsolls complement the white elements in the main outfit, and the girls’ nails are done but do not distract from the overall look. A pop of pink lipgloss adds the final summery touch!

On my way towards the beautiful Cibeles Palace, I spotted this incredibly cute pair, who also graciously agreed to have their photo taken. Again, I love how their warm-toned outfits totally complement each other!

Marcos is definitely sending out a preppy vibe here, but his cuffed skinny jeans stop the outfit from being too Ivy League and give it a fun, fashionable vibe instead. I absolutely love the yellow polo shirt in this weather, and the light grey sets it off perfectly. The simple white Converse add a retro touch and keep it casual.

Marta looks just as put-together, albeit with a darker colour palette. I love the way her shoes work with her bag without being too matchy-matchy, and her gold jewellery pulls the whole outfit together by working with the buckles on her bag and the zip on her jacket. I saw this type of big link necklace on several different women in Madrid, but I particularly like the way Marta’s sunglasses and her personalised name chain complement her statement piece.

The last pair I spotted seemed to be pretty big denim fans, as well as experts at choosing pieces that made the whole look effortless yet stylish. Arturo is the epitome of Spanish cool in these pictures, with an entirely blue-toned outfit perfected by the cardigan thrown nonchalantly over his shoulder. I love the rose print on the slim-fit shirt, and the form-fitting jeans and grey Converse keep the casual-yet-collected air consistent all the way down.

Garbiñe looks just as polished, a key feature of Madrid style – and just look at that hair! I am loving the tucked-in denim shirt with the rolled up sleeves, and the print on the flowy skirt is adorable! It’s both flirty and cute and adds a pop of colour to the outfit, as does the pink watch, which lends a preppy edge to her overall look. The battered satchel is both quirky and practical, an interesting change from the handbags every Madrid girl seems to carry.

Of course, every district within the city is different, and in future I’m looking forward to checking out trendy Malasaña, hipster Chueca and refined Salamanca, but for now it was fun to walk around the beautiful Retiro and meet some great people in the process!

One thought on “Madrid Street Style Part One – Retiro

Leave a Reply

