Madrid Haul/First Impressions

Hi everyone, and welcome (back) to my blog! I decided to stop by and show you all what I managed to lay my hands on during my short holiday in Madrid at the start of the month.

I must admit none of these were particularly considered purchases, and generally involved a shopping style most akin to that of “Supermarket Sweep”, whether in Primor or Barajas duty free, and then whittling down my selection so I wasn’t buying five of the same thing.

My main disappointment was not being able to get hold of Kat von D’s notorious “Lolita”, as the Sephora in La Gavia shut earlier than anticipated. I’m still upset about this. They even had it in store, which is more than can be said about the rest of the world, apparently.

Thus onto my consolation prizes.

P1060190 (2)

 

From top left:

  1. MAC Satin Lipstick in “Mocha”. My first non-matte lipstick from MAC! It looks exactly like Taupe in the tube, yet is lighter and peachier when swatched, and obviously carries a satin finish.
  2. MAC Matte Lipstick in “Whirl”. Look, I know – I know that bloggers who rave about MAC are generally derided online, but I can’t help myself. Once I bought my first MAC lipstick there was no stopping me. It’s appalling. (Both my “Spice” and my “Whirl” lipliners are currently missing, and I’m terribly afraid I’ve lost them on a plane or something. I can’t afford to lose my makeup!!) Incidentally, I bought “Velvet Teddy” at duty-free when it was impossible to find anywhere else, and the same was true for “Whirl”. It swatches darker than “Taupe” and is far more mauve-pink.
  3. Milani lipstick in “69 Matte Beauty”. This is pretty much an exact dupe for MAC “Taupe”. If you squint at the two really closely, you can possibly detect that they’re slightly different, but you’d have to stare at them for about an hour to get that.
  4. Wet n Wild megaslicks Balm Stain in “Caffeine Fix”. This looks quite similar to the Clinique chubby sticks, and is a very light, glossy “Kylie” colour. Normally I wouldn’t touch sheer colours if you paid me, but I’m starting to get into more minimal makeup looks, and really want a nice balm that still adds a bit of colour – sadly, most of the  coloured balms I’ve seen in the UK come in a ghastly shade of pale pink or neon red, which is not quite what I fancy when seeking to look as low-maintenance as possible. This feels lovely and creamy, so may well prove to be the solution.
  5. Maybelline SuperStay 24H Color liquid lipstick in “640 Nude Pink Beige Rose”. I think this awkwardly long name illustrates the difficulties we all have in naming the on-trend 90s brown-mauve-taupe-pink lip, which is why many of us, regardless of our personal feelings on Ms Jenner, resort to calling it the “Kylie”. I’m really not sure why I bought yet another liquid lipstick, let alone one probably available in the UK, considering I now rarely ever wear liquid lipsticks due to how drying they are. This very pink-mauve formula seems less cakey than others when swatched, although the true test will be on my lips.
  6. Milani Power Lip Gloss Stain in “08 Creamy Cafe”. We don’t really have Milani in the UK, so I went a bit wild. I’m getting slightly tired of brands choosing brown packaging for products that actually come out far more dark pink/mauve than brown, and this is one such example. I’ve really got no idea what it’s supposed to be, but it’s one of those twist up things that kind of exploded on me. The tip is a brush, which is pretty stiff and difficult even to swatch on my hand. I hope this will turn out to be better on my lips.
  7. We also don’t really have Wet n Wild here: see above. This is their MegaLast Lip Color in “Sandstorm”, which is almost a dead ringer for MAC’s “Taupe” but a tiny bit more terracotta: it applies beautifully and is absurdly pigmented, with a slightly glossy finish.
  8. W7 Honolulu Bronzer: I wondered whether this was intended to be a dupe of the popular Benefit Hoola Bronzer, and picked it up as I don’t buy from Benefit. This comes with a very strange brush – my boyfriend described it as “soft but feels like an eraser”, which is pretty accurate. It doesn’t seem too orange, so I’m looking forward to trying this out, but I wish they’d get rid of the “Go Hawaiin [sic] with this W7 bronzing face powder”, which sounds more than a little dodgy.
  9. Milani Powder Blush in “11 Blosstomtime Rose”. I only bought this because I vaguely remember a favourite YouTuber gushing over how pretty the flower pattern is and how nice the formula feels. This reminds me strongly of Sleek’s “Rose Gold”, except the gold is so well mixed in with the pink that the overall effect is an iridescent peach, which is not quite the understated coral I’d wanted for everyday looks, but still very pretty indeed.
  10. Essence Eyeliner Pen in “Waterproof 01”. I’m only about 90% happy with my current L’Oreal eyeliner pen, so always prepared to try something new. This liner has a long, firm, thin tip and dries extremely black and very glossy.

I’ll be properly trying all these products out over the next few weeks, so let me know if you’d like detailed reviews of any, or any of the post ideas I mentioned above.

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope to see your thoughts in the comments below.

One thought on “Madrid Haul/First Impressions

Leave a Reply

